top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUde Ugo Anna

What to read when you're tired of reading. 

No, don't pull my locs yet. Not just what to read, what to do too.


All book lovers know they cannot do without reading. It's a near obsession (okay, not obsession obsession but obsession). One minute they're upset with Bigger Thomas' choices in Native Son so they push the book far away and just refuse to look at it, the next minute they're scrolling through their Instagram feed and boom, new read. Trust me, if you do this you're not alone.

You've got an assignment or research to do and it's frustrating your oatmeal breakfast out of you. You want to get done with it and relax but the ideas are locked somewhere with no means of expression. Breathe in darling, here's what to do.


Read something else.

Na, I'm not crazy.

Reading something else can help you relax, especially if what you choose to read is humorous, written with simple words and has no relationship whatsoever with the task at hand. I like to keep a stash of tech, bridal and fashion magazines handy (a pack of cheese balls too) for times like this. The bright colours of my magazines replace the usual black and white print and helps me relax. The smiling faces of models and the scenery of well-taken photographs soothe my mind, suprisingly. (Try this and let me know).

Try comics. Garfield and Archie comics would make you laugh. You could pretend to be your favourite superhero while reading a Marvel comicbook. If comics are not your thing, you can pick your favourite read and scan through chapters that you find funny or lively. Do not try to read travelogues or documentaries when you're bored or exhausted. Choose something 'exciting'.

Apart from easing the tension and boredom you feel, reading something with a pop of colour, humour or written in simple diction would help get your mind running again. You may pick one or two ideas from the book, borrow a phrase or two or simply incorporate the imagery (mental pictures) the book provided you, into your work. What's better than that? (A pack of cheese balls maybe).

Now, if this doesn't work for you, it's totally fine. You can do the usual. Take a walk. Close your eyes and listen to music. Eat a snack. Call someone who helps your mood by simply talking. Get a friend to read your work (if you're studying and writing a report). Listening to someone else read my work always helps. I get to spot my errors easily and ease into writing again.


I hope this was helpful.

Leave me a comment if you found this interesting, helpful or know another tip that may be useful to someone else.


Good luck with reading, and writing!

With love, Ude Ugo Anna.

139 views5 comments

5 Yorum


paultaiwo2000
15 Mar 2020

Nice write up ....😍


Beğen

Ude Ugo Anna
Ude Ugo Anna
15 Mar 2020

@frankwisdom007, thank you for reading! Of course, this relates to every other creator. Be safe!

Beğen

Ude Ugo Anna
Ude Ugo Anna
15 Mar 2020

@temmieawoyemi15, thank you so much for your comment. I'm glad you love the blogpost and I'm happy you see me in a positive light. Do enjoy your day!

Beğen

frankwisdom077
14 Mar 2020

Awesome, not only in the reading and writing industry Sha.


Beğen

temmieawoyemi15
14 Mar 2020

Girl you are so talented 😁you motivate me in class sha .you might not know me but I know you ❤️

Beğen
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page