top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUde Ugo Anna

16 books in 3 months?! Not me!

Now what child reads over 16 books in 3 months and 9 days?! 🙄 Your child? Not my child though, maybe my mother's child.😂

A friend of mine asked me how many books I've read this year and I could not tell. We've all been at school, running to classes, writing tests, and whatnot. I remember falling asleep everytime I picked up Mariama Bâ's So Long a Letter to study (it became an inside joke my roommates and I shared). Now, I'm back home, doing next-to-nothing, that's if we do not count chores. Long story cut short, I decided to count and arrived at 16 read completely and 8 read in half! What?!


I promise I'm not a nerd and my head's not always buried in books, I talk to people, text and make a lot of noise. How did this happen?! I'll figure sometime. But, here's a list of the books I've read this quarter. They're arranged randomly. I'll put up a post about my best-rated and least-rated books.



1. Lola Shoneyin's Baba Segi's Wives.

I'll not be doing reviews because the list is so long but trust, this is a beautiful book. It tells the story of the politics of a polygamous family and how life's hardknocks can be a shove in the right direction.



2. Mariama Bâ' So Long A Letter.



3. Tendai Huchu's The Hairdresser Of Harare.

Set in Zimbabwe, The Hairdresser of Harere is Vimbai whose hands work 'magic' as hairstyles and rules over her kingdom- Khumalo Hair and Beauty Treatment Salon until Dumi shows up and steals her shine. Oh, there's a love, a child, sweet feeelings and heartbreaks too. No, not your regular heartbreak, this has a twist you want to see.



4. Chigozie Obioma's An Orchestra of Minorities.

You want to see this too. My word limit won't let me type!


5. We Need New Names -NoViolet Bulawayo🌬️



6. Blackass- Igoni Barret 🥵


7. Paul Coelho's The Alchemist. Oh, spiritually is on the inside. You need this!



8. International Sisi Eko. This is a compilation of works of students and lecturers of the Department of English, University of Lagos. There's a story to make you cry in there. Read.


9. Hope Egagha- Two Mothers and Son. This counts. Oh, yes it does.


10. Macbeth- William Shakespeare. I studied this. Irony and wordplay. Read every word. I deserve Fanta.🥺



11. Chinelo Okparanta- Under the Udala Trees. 🌈


12. Wole Soyinka's Death and the King's Horseman. Baba no dey disappoint. Do you love mythology? This is for you. Tragic, yet beautiful.


13. Abiodun Adeniyi's The Curse.



14. V.S. Nai Paul- A Bend in the River.


15. Obinna Udenwe's Satans and Shaitans.



16! Chigozie Obioma's The Fishermen. 🥇

103 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page